Public holidays in Bulgaria for 2020

1st January...Wed...New Year's Day

3rd March...Tue...Liberation Day

17th April...Fri...Orthodox Good Friday

18th April...Sat..Orthodox Easter Saturday

19th April...Sun...Orthodox Easter Sunday

20th April...Mon...Orthodox Easter Monday

1st May...Fri...Labour Day

6th May...Wed...Saint George's Day / Army Day

24th May...Sun...Culture and Literacy Day

25th May...Mon...Culture and Literacy Day Holiday

6th Sep...Sun...Unification Day

7th Sep...Mon...Unification Day Holiday

22nd Sep...Tue...Independence Day

1st Nov...Sun...Day of the Bulgarian Enlighteners *

24th Dec...Thu...Christmas Eve

25th Dec...Fri...Christmas Day

26th Dec...Sat...2nd Day of Christmas

Bansko Independence Day

A special day for Bansko which falls on 5th of October each year is there Independence Day. Traditional singing, dancing, speeches and fireworks which are well worth seeing. Bansko was liberated from the Ottomans on 5th October 1912.

Baba Marta Day

Baba Marta is a holiday celebrated everywhere in Bulgaria on March 1st. Martenitsas, usually in the form of a wrist band, small yarn dolls or tassels are created by combining red and white colored threads and are worn on that day and throughout March.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baba_Marta_Day

Bansko like most towns and villages has it own annual traditions, click here to find out more... local traditions